Tags

, , , , , , ,

complacencyAs human beings we are remarkably good at accepting the status quo and we often lull ourselves into a state of complacency. It could be claiming to hold values that we don’t actually live or simply accepting things the way they are, even when we know that they are unacceptable. This is what we’re doing collectively at the great scale of how we co-exist on this planet – but we also do it in our own lives. We do it for example when some parts of our lives are functioning at an ‘okay’ level and we then convince ourselves that this is as good as it gets, that we’ve done enough and that other parts of our lives are therefore by default ‘okay’. But when no change is happening, it becomes evident that we’ve been complacent and sooner or later the moment of self-honesty reaches us, either through consequence or through directive self-realization. We realize that we have been complacent, exactly because some parts of our participation in our reality are meeting our standards, but even here we had been fooling ourselves, because how can anything be real, if it does not apply to all moments absolutely. We might be effective mothers but compromise our own bodies. We might be great at communicating at work but fail to consider our partners. We might see the changes required for the world to change, but we don’t apply them to our own lives. Complacency is not simply silently or resignedly submitting oneself to status quo – no, complacency is an active agreement, and condolence, endorsement and acceptance of the way things are. Complacency is self-deception and self-dishonesty and if we are complacent about something in one area of our lives, this affects all other areas of our lives, whether tacitly or directly. Complacency is an abdication of self-responsibility.

Self-Forgiveness

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to become complacent within convincing myself that because I am effective in some areas of my life, it automatically makes the totality of my life effective, when I know for a fact that this is not the case and thus within making myself complacent I engaged and enslaved myself to a lie of self-dishonesty where I prohibited myself from seeing the areas of my life in which I am not effective and thus require changing and correcting myself

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to believe that complacency is a state of passively agreeing to the current situation when in fact complacency is an active agreement and endorsement as well as a deliberate lying to myself about my own effectiveness or about the effectiveness of my life

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to use complacency to deceive myself into a false sense of security and ‘satisfaction’ with myself and my life, where I could convince myself that “I’m doing enough” and “this is okay” and “I cannot do much more than what I do” through which I actually left myself in a state of inner conflict because I obviously knew that I was lying to myself and thus created a split within myself between two ‘sides’ that were disjointed

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to feel frustrated and desperate and that I have judged and blamed myself for not being effective in particular areas of my life – instead of seeing, realizing and understanding how this negative and conflicted experience is equal to the state of complacency and false security that I’ve created for myself

I forgive myself that I’ve accepted and allowed myself to accept from myself a bare minimum of effectiveness, where as long as I do the bare minimum I believe myself to be ‘covered’ and ‘in good standing’ because I have apparently done enough to ‘get by’ – when it is obvious that I am never going to reach any form of potential within myself by living this way and it is a remnant from my school years where I would do exactly this and actually always be very unsatisfied with myself because I knew that I could have made more of an effort, that I had potential to do something that I could stand by and be satisfied with

Self-Corrective Statement

When and as I see that I am accepting and allowing myself to go into a state of complacency as a form of false security and an experience of satisfaction that I am ‘covered’ and that what I have done is ‘okay’ because it meets some bare minimum requirements, I stop and I breathe and I bring myself back here to the center of my being. Because I realize that when I don’t change and when I don’t change as fast as I would like to, this is obviously one of the primary reasons, because I don’t push myself but have instead deceived and manipulated myself into accepting a lesser quality and a lesser potential from myself than what I am capable of. I commit myself to stop accepting the lowest denominator as the standard with which I live my life and measure my own effectiveness. I commit myself to change the standards of my effectiveness to instead be the highest denominator in everything that I do so that slowly but surely I push myself to effectiveness and to embody my utmost potential in all areas of my life and living.

Investigate Desteni, investigate the forum where on is invited to write oneself out in self-honesty and where any questions regarding the Desteni Material will be answered by Destonians who are walking their own process. Visit the Destonian Network where videos and blogs are streamed daily. Suggest to also check out the Desteni I Process and Relationship courses as well as the FREE DIP Lite course
(Image borrowed from Gregory Colbert photography)
